November 7, 2009

Vegan Alcohol

Some alcoholic beverages can have animal products in them such as blood, glycerin or glyceryl monostearate (animal fat), insects, honey, bone marrow, chitin (derived from the hard parts of insects and crustacea such as shrimps, lobsters, and crabs), animal albumin (egg white and dried blood powder), fish oil, gelatin (jelly obtained by boiling animal tissues such as skin, tendons, ligaments, or bones), isinglass (from the swim bladders of fish), and casein/potassium caseinate (milk proteins).

Non-animal alternatives include limestone, bentonite, kaolin and kieslguhr (clays), silica gel and vegetable plaques.

Here is a list of links to vegan beer, wine, and spirits.

The Barnivore Vegan Alcohol Directory
Vegan Wine Guide
Veggie Wines
Vegan Wines & Other Alcoholic Beverages
The Organic Wine Company
Vinceremos Organic Wines
Vegan Wine list
Frey Organic Wines
Is Your Beer Vegan?
Alcohol Information Sheet
Campaign for Vegetarian/Vegan Friendly Alcoholic Drinks
Vegan Drinks
Cocktails and Other Alcoholic Drinks
Vegan Cocktails
Vegetarianism and wine
VegNews Vegan Wine Guide

Remember to check back here often for new post, I try to update at least once a month. Look at my past blog post for vegan information, resources, and links. E-mail me me if you have any suggestion post, questions on this blog or veganism or know any more sites relating to this post.

No comments: